April 15, 2012; Auburn Hills, MI, USA; Chicago Bulls head coach Tom Thibodeau (second from left) talks with guards C.J. Watson (left) and Ronnie Brewer (center), and forwards Kyle Korver (26) and Carlos Boozer (right) during the third quarter against the Detroit Pistons at The Palace. Chicago won 100-94 in overtime. Mandatory Credit: Tim Fuller-US PRESSWIRE

NBA Coach Of The Year (2012 SCIC Year-End Awards)


With the NBA regular season nearing its conclusion, we here at “Sir Charles in Charge” have decided the time is right to start handing out some end-of-year hardware to those around the league who have stood out amongst the pack and performed at the highest level in the National Basketball Association this year.

Over the next few days, we will be giving you our selections for all of the major NBA awards (Most Improved, Coach, Defensive Player, 6th Man, Rookie, Most Valuable Player). I as Editor of “Sir Charles in Charge” have received nominations and votes from fellow staff writers as well as loyal readers of the site for all of the awards.

The results are in. For day 2 of our SCIC awards, we give you our selection for the NBA Coach of the Year.

2nd runner-up: Indiana Pacers Head Coach Frank Vogel

Indiana Pacers record: 41-22

The Indiana Pacers are sitting pretty with the third seed in the Eastern Conference and will have home-court advantage in the first round of the playoffs this summer.

Didn’t see that coming.

The talent is finally in place for this franchise to be successful, but its Vogel’s leadership in getting these players to compete at the highest level that has the Pacers winning games.

The only teams to have 40+ wins at this point in the season: Chicago, Miami, San Antonio, Los Angeles, Oklahoma City and…..Indiana. That’s some pretty elite company to be standing alongside.

1st runner-up: San Antonio Spurs Head Coach Greg Popovich

San Antonio Spurs record: 45-16

The San Antonio Spurs aren’t dead in the water just yet. A lot of the credit can be given to coach Popovich.

This may be the single greatest of year of coaching that he has ever had in the league. That’s even taking into account the 4 seasons of championships he’s attained with the Spurs.

The team has overcome injuries to star 6th man Manu Ginobili, been able to get star forward Tim Duncan some much needed rest heading into the postseason and has gotten MVP-esque numbers from point guard Tony Parker.

I haven’t even mentioned the steady contributions Pop has gotten from bench players Danny Green, Tiago Splitter and Gary Neal that have helped this team stay near the top of the Western Conference.

Popovich is definitely a master of the art of coaching. This season just solidifies that fact.


and the winner of the first ever SCIC award for the NBA Coach of the Year goes to…

Chicago Bulls Head Coach Tom Thibodeau

Chicago Bulls record: 47-16

It’s kind of amazing to see the Chicago Bulls sit atop the NBA with the best record in the league considering the tumultuous circumstances surrounding their season.

Derrick Rose has missed 26 games due to injury. Luol Deng has missed 11. Richard “Rip” Hamilton has missed 38!

Yet despite all of the missed games by key players, Thibodeau has his Bulls maintaining a winning attitude and is getting big contributions from seldom used role players to fill in for his missing all-stars.

Since the incarnation of the NBA Coach of the Year award back in 1963. only 6 coaches have won the actual award on more than one occasion. No coach has ever won the award in back-to-back seasons.

While history may be against Thibodeau as it pertains to winning the league award, we here at “Sir Charles in Charge” believe no coach in the NBA got more out of his players this season than what “Tibs” got out of his Chicago Bulls.


Honorable Mentions: Thunder Head Coach Scott Brooks, Grizzlies Head Coach Lionel Hollins, Heat Head Coach Eric Spoelstra, Celtics Head Coach Doc Rivers


Staff Writer John Armstrong nominations: 5) Eric Spoelstra 4) Mike Woodson 3) Frank Vogel 2) Scott Brooks 1) Tom Thibodeau

Staff Writer Joe Nardone nominations: 5) Doc Rivers 4) Greg Popovich 3) Lionel Hollins 2) Frank Vogel 1) Tom Thibodeau

Head Editor Chris Walder nominations 5) Scott Brooks 4) Doc Rivers 3) Frank Vogel 2) Tom Thibodeau 1) Greg Popovich

Reader nominations (after tally): 5) Doc Rivers 4) Scott Brooks 3) Frank Vogel 2) Greg Popovich 1) Tom Thibodeau


Coming tomorrow: SCIC award for NBA Defensive Player of the Year

Christopher Walder is a sports blogger and lead editor for Sir Charles in Charge. You may follow him on Twitter @WalderSports

Tags: Boston Celtics Chicago Bulls Derrick Rose Frank Vogel Greg Popovich Indiana Pacers Miami Heat NBA NBA Coach Of The Year Oklahoma City Thunder San Antonio Spurs Scott Brooks Tim Duncan Tom Thibodeau Tony Parker

comments powered by Disqus